Last Updated: Sep 15, 2015
Angkor Wat temple complex, Cambodia
- The CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Reference tab includes: maps of the world, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Library of Congress Country Study- Cambodia
History of Cambodia from early history through 1994.
- A Short History of Cambodia
Online book published in 2005 on the history of Cambodia.
- The History of Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge (PBS)
Multimedia timeline of Cambodian history containing primary sources, biographic info, maps, etc.
- Beauty and Darkness: Cambodia in Modern History
The Beauty and Darkness project provides information on the recent history of Cambodia, particularly the Khmer Rouge period. This includes materials pertaining to Cambodia, as well as information about Cambodian refugees and immigrants abroad.
- The Documentation Center of Cambodia
Archives of primary sources related to the Cambodian Genocide.
- Digital Archives of Cambodia Holocaust Survivors (DACHS)
Documenting the stories of survivors of the Cambodian genocide.
- Living memory of the Khmer (Project of Southeast Asia Digital Library) Northern Illinois University
Oral history collection-- Digital videos of personal accounts of life under the Khmer Rouge. Oral history transcripts in English.
- Asia Digital Collection- University of Hawaii
Images of late 19th century and early 20th century Cambodia.
Queen of Cambodia and Royal Children, 1871
- Cambodian Genocide Program (Yale University)
Overview, primary sources, photographs, and information about the Cambodian Genocide (1975-79) and U.S. involvement in Cambodia. There is also a full text searchable database called the Cambodian Genocide Database.
- Memory of Atrocities Project
Cambodia Tribunal Monitor (Northwestern University School of Law and the Documentation Center of Cambodia) website with links to videos of interviews with survivors of the Cambodian genocide.
- Tuol Sleng Museum of Genocide in Cambodia
114 photographs from Pol Pot's secret prison, codenamed "S-21" during his genocidal rule (1975-79).
- Web Exhibit: Night of the Khmer Rouge
Documentation Center of Cambodia (Rutgers University) history exhibit.
- Cambodia Records: John F. Kennedy Presidential Library
Primary sources related to U.S. relations with Cambodia in the JFK Library--National Archives.
- The Killing Fields Museum
Historical information related to Cambodian history and culture, and the Cambodian Genocide.
- Maps of Cambodia-- University of Texas Libraries
Historical, topographical, thematic, city, and country maps of Cambodia. Most maps were produced by the CIA.
- Southeast Asia Visions- Cornell University Library
The site provides online access to more than 350 books and journal articles written in English and French.They provide a comprehensive representation of Southeast Asia. Along with their narratives, these accounts include some 10,000 images, drawings, photographs, prints and maps, many of them in color.
- The Avalon Project- Indochina -- Yale University Law School
Documents in law, history, and diplomacy related to Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos.