Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016
An old-time estate, Dominica, Island in Caribbean Sea, ca. 1902
(Library of Congress Photo LC-USZ62-65527)
- The Contemporary Caribbean (New York Public Library)
This is a section of the African Age website sponsored by the Shomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library. This section covers cultural, political and economic issues in the Caribbean.
From the website: "The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a grouping of twenty countries: fifteen Member States and five Associate Members. It is home to approximately sixteen million citizens, 60% of whom are under the age of 30, and from the main ethnic groups of Indigenous Peoples, Africans, Indians, Europeans, Chinese and Portuguese. The Community is multi-lingual; with English as the major language complemented by French and Dutch and variations of these, as well as African and Indian expressions."
- Country Studies: Caribbean (Library of Congress)
From the website: "Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region."
- Central America and the Caribbean: CIA World Factbook
Information compiled by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) for each country in Central American and the Caribbean Islands. Information includes sections on Land, Water, People, Government, Economy, Communications, and Defense Forces.
- Writers of the Caribbean (East Carolina University)
From Website: "This site offers biographies, bibliographies, and links to information about some of the most prolific writers of the Caribbean. Below you will find links to information about each of the writers featured on this site."
- Caribbean Women Writers (The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago)
From the website: "Caribbean Women Writers have produced and continue to create a significant body of work, which depicts experiences particular to Caribbean women as well as universal concerns. This bibliographic database was developed in an attempt to bring the short stories written by women in the Caribbean, whether French, Spanish or English to a wider audience of researchers and scholars."
- Caribbean Histories Revealed (U.K. National Archives)
From the website: "The history of the British Caribbean is explored in this exhibition through government documents, photographs and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s and discovered during a cataloguing project at The National Archives of the United Kingdom."
- Early Caribbean Digital Archive (Northeastern University)
From the website: "Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) is a highly interactive digital scholars lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-C20 Caribbean literature. The ECDA seeks to engage both scholars and students in a shared, critical study of the textual, material, and cultural histories of the Caribbean by providing them with innovative digital technologies and newly emerging discursive platforms for generating new knowledges of the Caribbean’s rich body of materials."
- Caribbean Documents Collection (University of Miami)
From the website: "The Caribbean Documents digital collection includes a selection of correspondence and documents concerning various aspects of business and life in the Caribbean from the 1750s through the 1850s. The digitized materials cover a range of Caribbean islands, including Antiqua, Barbados, Dominica, Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, and Martinique. The letters document a broad range of topics, mostly of a business nature, including finances, shipping, plantations, and slavery. The letters also touch upon legal and political issues, as well as personal affairs. The documents are primarily financial and legal materials relating to slavery, annuity accounts, rum, shipping, and trade."
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (Florida International University_)
From the website: "The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC comprises collections that speak to the similarities and differences in histories, cultures, languages and governmental systems. Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts."
- Maps of the Americas (University of Texas, Austin)
Digital Collection of maps including the Caribbean originally produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Available on the website of the Perry-Castañeda Library at U.T. Austin.
- Caribbean Art and Visual Culture: As Far as the Eye/I Can See (University of Miami)
Provides artist profiles for Caribbean artists. From the website: "As far as the eye/I can see" is a project that shares artist's visions, voices and vantage points, a space where critics offer perspectives on current exhibits and critical debates in contemporary visual art and culture."
- Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre
From their website: "The Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre coordinates the Caribbean region’s response to climate change. Officially opened in August 2005, the Centre is the key node for information on climate change issues and on the region’s response to managing and adapting to climate change in the Caribbean."
- The Caribbean and Climate Change: The Costs of Inaction
A study on the Caribbean and Climate Change published on the Global Development and Environment Institute website at Tufts University.
- Digital Library of Trinidad and Tobago
From the website: "The Digital Library of Trinidad and Tobago is a growing collection of digital resources highlighting the people, places, lifestyle, culture and events of Trinidad and Tobago throughout its history. Its role is to preserve and provide access to the country's heritage material. The collection includes photographs, video, audio recordings, books, pamphlets, newspapers and manuscripts. These information resources cover social, economic, cultural, educational, scientific and historical issues."
- Visions of Freedom: New Documents from the Closed Cuban Archives (The Wilson Center)
From the website: "The Wilson Center, chartered by Congress, is the nation’s key non-partisan policy forum for tackling global issues through independent research and open dialogue to inform actionable ideas for Congress, the Administration and the broader policy community."
- Caribbean Through a lens- Explored! (U.K.National Archives)
From the website: "The National Archives has been working with community groups to share and explore our collection of Caribbean images. The National Archives’ collection of Caribbean images are drawn from the Ministry of Information (INF 10) and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (CO 1069) and span over 100 years of history."
- LILLAS Benson Digital Collections (University of Texas)
Hub of many archival resources related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes the Latin America Network Information Center and the Castro Speech Database.
- The Dutch in the Caribbean World 1670-1870 (Huygens ING and the Royal Netherlands Institute for Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies)
From the website: "This project offers a research tool in two parts: a) a guide to archival sources on the Dutch colonies in the Caribbean World and b) a summary of the relevant laws and regulations of the period."
- National Library of Jamaica Digital Collections
From the website: "he National Library of Jamaica’s (NLJ) holdings constitute the most comprehensive collection of Jamaican documentary offering an invaluable representation of Jamaica’s history and heritage. To enhance access to its rich and varied collections, the National NLJ has digitized thousands of historical photographs, prints, drawings, pamphlets, programmes, manuscripts, books, rare maps and other rare and unique materials. The vast majority of these images are freely available online for public access and has been grouped into the following categories: Jamaican Biographies, Digital image Collections, Picture Dis, Riots and Rebellions, Slave Trade, Google Books- Jamaica, and dLOC."