Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017
Map Image From the Library of Congress (Cities and Towns Map Collection)
- Encyclopedia of Chicago
Published by the Chicago History Museum, this searchable website contains thousands of historical resources, including articles, maps, broadsides, and newspapers and other primary sources.
- Explore Chicago Collections
Project to bring together resources for Chicago history from various partners: Chicago History Museum, Roosevelt University, Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago Public Library, the Newberry Library.
- Chicago History Museum
Online resources available at the CHM. Searches include the Chicago Daily News photographs from 1902 - 1933, Chicago architecture and buildings and various online exhibitions.
- Chicago Public Library Digital Collections
Digital resources covering a wide range of events, people, and locations in Chicago's history.
- Chicago: City of the Century (PBS)
Timeline, maps, images, adn other primary sources related to the PBS American Experience film.
- Chicago and the Midwest (Newberry Library)
Website from the Newberry Library with links to their resources on Chicago history.
- Columbian Exposition: Chicago World's Fair 1893
Online exhibit including image gallary and interactive map of the fairgrounds. Hosted by CUIP, a collaborative partnership among the University of Chicago and Chicago Public Schools (CPS).
- Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull House and Its Neighborhoods 1889-1963
Online exhibit with images, and other primary sources presented in collaboration by the Hull House Museum, and UIC College of Architecture and the Arts.
- Images of Chicago (FSA) 1935-45 (Library of Congress)
Thousands of Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information images related to Chicago.
- Historical Chicago Maps (Library of Congress)
Maps of Chicago (mostly 19th century) from the LC Cities and Towns collection.
- Chicago-related WPA Posters (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress collection of Works Progress Administration posters related to Chicago.
- Chicago: Destination for the Great Migration (Library of Congress)
Website exhibit with about African American Migration to Chicago, providing primary sources from the LC African American Mosaic project.
- Homicide in Chicago 1870-1930
A project of the Northwestern University School of Law. Website presents the Chicago Police Department Homicide Record Index chronicling 11,000 homicides in the city during those years.
Statue of the Republic at the Columbian Exposition, 1893; Image from Illinois State Society Website
- The History Files at the Chicago History Museum
Provides web exhibits on the following topics in Chicago History:
Al Capone, The Chicago Fire, Fort Dearborn, The World's Columbian Exposition, The Pullman Era, The Stockyards, A Century of Progress, Parades, Protest and Politics in Chicago, The Black Sox.
- Chicago History Timeline
Chicago Public Library online historical timeline with linked resources.
- Timeline of Chicago Tragedies and Disasters
Chicago Public Library website with links to resources for tragic events in Chicago from 1812 to 1995. These include: the Fort Dearborn Massacre, the Great Chicago Fire, the Haymarket Tragedy, the Iroquois Theater Fire, and St, Valentine's Day massacre, and many more.
- The Great Chicago Fire
Chicago History Museum and Northwestern University together created this online exhibit covering the history of the Great Chicago Fire, eyewitness accounts, illustrations, and other primary sources.
- The Dramas of Haymarket
Website Exhibit: "Online project produced by the Chicago Historical Society and Northwestern University. The Dramas of Haymarket examines selected materials from the Chicago Historical Society's Haymarket Affair Digital Collection, an electronic archive of CHS's extraordinary Haymarket holdings. The Dramas of Haymarket interprets these materials and places them in historical context, drawing on many other items from the Historical Society's extensive resources."
- The Plan of Chicago
Online exhibit about the Plan of Chicago from the Ryerson and Burnham Archives of the Art Institute of Chicago.
- Hull House and other Illinois Settlement Houses
This online image database features a selection of photographs and documents from the Hull-House Collection and from six other collections of settlement house materials housed in the Special Collections Department, University of Illinois at Chicago Library.
- Landmark Chicago- Architecture images
The Chicago Atheneum Museum of Architecture and Design has assembled a list of what it considers to be the most impressive masterpieces of Chicago Architecture from 1850 to the present.
- Chicago Architects Oral History Project
A project of the Art Institute of Chicago to record the life experiences of architects who shaped the physical environment in Chicago and surrounding communities from the early 1900s to today.
- Chicago-related Historical Broadsides and Printed Ephemera (Library of Congress)
An American Time Capsule, the online presentation of the Library of Congress Printed Ephemera collection, comprises 17,000 items including proclamations, advertisements, blank forms, programs, election tickets, catalogs, clippings, timetables, and menus. There are a significant number related to Chicago history.
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.