Last Updated: Sep 27, 2016
Satan. illustration by Gustave Doré, Inferno, 1861
- Dante's Worlds (University of Texas- Austin)
From the website: "an integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy."
- The World of Dante (University of Virginia)
from the website: "The World of Dante offers a digital environment for the study of the Comedy...The timeline on The World of Dante seeks to illustrate the events of Dante's life, historical and political events, significant artistic, and literary and architectural achievement."
- The Digital Dante Project (Columbia University, NY)
Resources on Dante's works with commentary and context.
- The Princeton Dante Project (Princeton University)
From the website: "The PDP combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound."
- Renaissance Dante in Print (University of Notre Dame)
From the website: "This exhibition presents Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy from the John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Dante Collection at the University of Notre Dame, together with selected treasures from The Newberry Library."
- Visible Language: Dante in Text and Image (Cambridge University)
From the website: "This exhibition celebrates the ways in which Dante has been interpreted in text and image in the seven centuries of book production since the poet's death. It brings together manuscripts and printed books, illustrations and fine bindings - all created to make Dante's words visible or themselves inspired by Dante's writings. The display draws on Cambridge University Library's own collections and the private library of Livio Ambrogio."
- Museo Casa di Dante (Dante Museum) in Florence, Italy.
Website of the Museo di Dante is in Italian, but you can use Google Translate to view the site in English. It has information on Dante's life and medieval Italy.
Engraving for Inferno II, from the Florentine edition of 1481
- Divine Comedy Image Website (Cornell University)
From the website: "...a repository of scanned images from illustrated editions of Dante Alighieri’s poem found in the Fiske Dante Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library. These images derive from editions of The Divine Comedy published from the Incunabula period (ending in 1500) through the early twentieth century."
- Mapping Dante (University of Pennsylvania)
From the website: "The interactive map which is the core of this project allows users to visualize and sort places according to a number of literary, cultural, and geographical categories, in order to explore the connections between Dante’s text and geography. Each place name is visualized according to a set of parameters describing both historico-cultural aspects and rhetorical features of each mention."
- Dartmouth Dante Project (Dartmouth University)
From the website: "The DDP, originally developed between 1982 and 1988 (when a prototype was opened to public use), is an ongoing effort to put the entire texts of more than 75 commentaries into a searchable database that anyone can access via the World Wide Web. This gives scholars easier access to the full texts of many important, and, in some cases, difficult to obtain works."
- The Decameron Web (Brown University)
Although focused on the poet Boccaccio, this website offers a wide range of information regarding Italian medieval life and culture.
- The The Orb: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies-- Dante Alighieri
provides links to e-texts of Dante's works, illustrations, exhibitions, and other web resources.
- The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies (Georgetown University)
From the website: "The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world" Includes links regarding Dante.