This era in English history was the epoch of Queen Elizabeth I's reign (1558–1603). Known as England's "Golden Age", it was a time of renaissance in music, literature, poetry, and theater.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2016
William Shakespeare, The Cobbe Portrait, 1610
- Folger Shakespeare Library
The Folger is a world-renowned research center on Shakespeare and on the early modern age in the West, located in Washington DC.
- Shakespeare Resource Center
All things Shakespeare: works, biography, literary criticism, weblinks.
- Absolute Shakespeare
Shakespeare's works, biography, quotes, etc.
- The Oxford Shakespeare
The 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This edition contains 37 plays and 154 sonnets, and is considered one of the most authoritative editions published in the 20th century.
- The Horace Howard Furness Shakespeare Library- University of Pennsylvania
A collection of primary and secondary texts that illuminate the theater, literature, and history of Shakespeare, Shakespearean texts, theatrical production and criticism.
- Candadian Adaptations of Shakespeare
Website devoted to the systematic exploration and documentation of the ways in which Shakespeare has been adapted into a national, multicultural theatrical practice. Includes learning, teaching, multimedia, and research resources and pedagogical tools related to how Shakespeare has been adapted into (and out of) Canadian theatre.
- The Shakespeare Quartos Archive
The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions.
- The Shakespeare Mystery: Who in Fact Was He? Frontline PBS)
This site from PBS, based on a Frontline special, explains the debate about who wrote Shakespeare.
- Illustrated Shakespeare (University of Wisconsin- Madison)
from the site: "This online collection, originally published in venues as disparate as Philadelphia and Leipzig, includes images produced by an array of technologies available in the 19th and early 20th centuries."
A Midsummer Night's Dream lithograph, Currier & Ives
- Folger Digital Texts- Complete Works of Shakespeare (Folger Shakespeare Library)
"The Folger Digital Texts are edited in accord with twenty-first century knowledge about Shakespeare’s texts, and are made available free of charge."
- Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Complete collection of Shakespeare's plays and poetry (includes sonnets). From website: "The Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993."
- Open Source Shakespeare
Complete collection of Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, and poems. Includes a Concordance and Character Search. From website: "Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century."
- Shakespeare's Monologues
Selected monologues from Shakespeare's plays.