The Great Depression was the worst economic depression of the 20th century. It began in the U.S. in 1929 and lasted until the middle 1940s. The New Deal was a series of programs enacted by FDR in response to the economic crisis.
Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017
"One-Third of a Nation". WPA photograph, 1938. Image from the National Archives.
- Great Depression Images-- Library of Congress and Yale Univ.
The photographs in the Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944. Searchable database with interactive map.
- The New Deal Network-- Columbia University
Sponsored by the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute (FERI), in collaboration with the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, Marist College, and IBM, The New Deal Network (NDN) website has thousands of primary sources about the public works and arts projects of the New Deal. NDN is now based at the Institute for Learning Technologies (ILT) at Columbia University.
- Dear Mrs. Roosevelt-- Letters from Children
Letters to First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt from children during the Great Depression.
- FDR Cartoon Collection Database
Digital collection of over 30,000 political cartoons about FDR from newspapers and magazines published in the 1930s and 1940s.
- A New Deal for the Arts-- The National Archives
An online exhibit from the National Archives about New Deal art.
- The New Deal Stage-- Library of Congress
This online presentation includes over 13,000 images of items selected from the New Deal "Federal Theater Project", 1935-39.
- FDR: A Resource Guide-- Library of Congress
This Library of Congress resource guide links to digital materials related to Roosevelt such as photographs, manuscripts, and sound recordings, as well as external websites.
- The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project-- GWU
A project of George Washington University, this website contains Eleanor Roosevelt's speeches, articles, letters, and "My Day" columns.
- Manuscripts from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-40 (Library of Congress)
"This collection of life histories consists of approximately 2,900 documents, compiled and transcribed by more than 300 writers from 24 states, working on the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program that was part of the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1940".
Destitute pea pickers in California; Mother of seven children, 1936. FSA photograph by Dorothea Lange. Image from the National Archives.