Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017
Campaign profiling twenty women political prisoners and other prisoners of concern from around the world; Image from the Dept. of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor
- Human Rights Watch
From website: Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe. Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities.
- Human Rights Center (Univ. of Minnesota Law School)
From the website: "The Human Rights Center works locally, nationally, and internationally to provide training, educational materials, and assistance to professionals, students, and volunteers working to promote and protect human rights. The Center works at the nexus of scholarship and practice in the human rights field, seeking to maximize the effectiveness of human rights advocates."
- Human Rights Library (Univ. of Minnesota)
From the website: "The Human Rights Library houses one of the largest collections of more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites. This comprehensive research tool is accessed by more than a 250,000 students, scholars, educators, and human rights advocates monthly from over 150 countries around the world."
- Global Voices
From the website: "We are a border-less, largely volunteer community of more than 1400 writers, analysts, online media experts and translators. We curate, verify and translate trending news and stories you might be missing on the Internet, from blogs, independent press and social media in 167 countries."
- Human Rights First
From the website: "Human Rights First is an independent advocacy and action organization that challenges America to live up to its ideals. We believe American leadership is essential in the global struggle for human rights, so we press the U.S. government and private companies to respect human rights and the rule of law."
- Refworld Database (UNHCR)
The UN High Commission for Refugees REFWORLD Database includes human rights resolutions and resources classified by topic, agency, or document type, from a number of human rights courts and tribunals.
- U.S. State Dept. Country Reports on Human Rights
From the website: "The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements. The U.S. Department of State submits reports on all countries receiving assistance and all United Nations member states to the U.S. Congress in accordance with the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 and the Trade Act of 1974."
- African Commission on Human and People's Rights
From the website: "The African Charter established the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. In addition to performing any other tasks which may be entrusted to it by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, the Commission is officially charged with three major functions: the protection of human and peoples' rights, the promotion of human and peoples' rights
the interpretation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights."
- Council of Europe: Human Rights Law
From the website: "The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organization. It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union."
- International Justice Resource Center: Online Resource Hub
From the website: "The International Justice Resource Center (IJRC) provides advocates, civil society organizations, and victims of human rights abuses with the information and resources they need to effectively use international legal protections – including advocacy before human rights monitoring bodies and complaints before international and domestic courts – to bring about justice and accountability for human rights violations."
- Center for Social Justice: Reports (UC Berkeley Law School)
From the website: "Established in 1999, the Center produces and fosters creative scholarship that examines the law through a lens of social justice, and works in partnership with communities to provide education to the general public."
Students at Butkhak High School in Kabul, Afghanistan, cheer in unison on the last day of Global Action Week, an international campaign advocating free, quality education for all. Image Source: United Nations
- Amnesty International
From website: "Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people who take injustice personally. ... We are independent of any political ideology, economic interest or religion... We investigate and expose the facts, whenever and wherever abuses happen."
- United Nations Human Rights Commission
From the website: "The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) represents the world's commitment to universal ideals of human dignity. We have a unique mandate from the international community to promote and protect all human rights."
- United Nations Documentation: Human Rights
UN documentation on human rights from the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guides.
- Human Rights Info: US Government
From the website: "The Office of Policy Planning and Public Diplomacy, in the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, of the U.S. Department of State manages this site as a portal for international human rights related information from the United States Government."
- Human Rights Institute (Univ. of Connecticut)
Provides links to resources and documents about Human Rights. From the website: "The Human Rights Institute was founded in 2003 by the Gladstein Professor of Human Rights, Richard A. Wilson in order to promote interdisciplinary research and teaching across the University."
- Human Rights (The Ford Foundation)
From the website: "Established in 1936, the foundation is an independent, global organization with a legacy of commitment to innovative leaders on the frontlines of social change."
- Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (OAS)
From the website: "The IACHR is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States (“OAS”) whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere."
- International Criminal Court (ICC)
From the website: "The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community. The ICC is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system. Its seat is at The Hague in the Netherlands."
- European Court of Human Rights Fact Sheets
The ECHR Press Service provides fact sheets by theme on the Court’s case-law and pending cases. According to their website: the ECHR is the international judicial organ of the European Convention on Human Rights "with jurisdiction to find against States that do not fulfill their undertakings."
- Asian Human Rights Commission
From the website: "The Asian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) was founded in 1984 by a prominent group of jurists and human rights activists in Asia. The AHRC is an independent, non-governmental body, which seeks to promote greater awareness and realisation of human rights in the Asian region, and to mobilise Asian and international public opinion to obtain relief and redress for the victims of human rights violations. AHRC promotes civil and political rights, as well as economic, social and cultural rights."
- Equipo Nikzor (Derechos Humanos)
Affiliated with Derechos Humanos (Human Rights). From the website: "Equipo Nizkor is an international organization working for the respect and promotion of human rights in different topics and areas. Our work includes the socialization of human rights information, the investigation of human rights abuses, the development of international human rights law, the preservation of memory and the fight against impunity."
- American Civil Liberties Union
From the website: "For almost 100 years, the ACLU has worked to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States."
- The Southern Poverty Law Center
From the website: "The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality."