The Korean War lasted from 1950-53. In June 1950, North Korea (backed by the USSR) invaded South Korea. The United Nations (primarily the US) joined the war on the side of South Korea, while China aided North Korea. It ended in a cease-fire in July 1953.
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2015
With her brother on her back, a Korean girl trudges by a stalled tank in Haengju, Korea, June 9, 1951. Photograph by Air Force Maj. R. V. Spencer (80-G-429691) Photo from the National Archives
- The Korean War and Its Origins, 1945-1953
Documents and images from the Truman Presidential Library. (under the auspices of the U.S. National Archives.)
- The Korean War
Documents and images at the Eisenhower Presidential Library (under the auspices of the U.S. National Archives.)
- Remembering the Korean War
This site contains official histories, images, and documents related to the Korean War. Website is maintained by the U.S. Army Center of Military History
- Vetrans History Project: Korean War, 1950-1953
Oral history interviews with Korean War veterans presented by Grand Valley State University.
- Rutgers Oral History Archives: Korean War
Website contains transcripts of interviews with Korean War veterans. (Rutgers University, New Jersey)
- Primary Source Documents on the Korean War
Links to primary source documents. Website maintained by the International Relations Program at Mount Holyoke College.
- The Miller Center: Korean War Primary Sources
Links to information and primary sources related to the Korean War. From their website: "The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history to the nation’s most pressing contemporary governance challenges."
- National Security Archive (George Washington University)
Search the website for Korean War information and links. From the website: Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents".
- Korea 1950-53: The Cold War's Hot War
Online exhibition about the Korean War. Website maintained by the National Army Museum, in London, England.
- Out in the Cold: Australia's Involvement in the Korean War
Online exhibition of the Australian War Memorial.
U.S.S.Toledo fires on military targets on the East Korean coast during the Korean War circa 1950 (ID#2007-707); Image from the Truman Presidential Library
- 50th Anniversary Commemoration of the Korean War, 1950-1953
Articles and links to websites about the Korean War, hosted by the U. S. Army Quartermaster Museum at Fort Lee, VA.
- The Korean War, 1950-1953
Timeline and other resources related to the Korean War. Website is maintained by the U.S. Army.
- Korean War Maps
Digital images of war maps used in the Korean War. Website is maintained by the U.S. Army Center of Military History.
- Korean War National Museum
Digital images and descriptions of items from the collection of the museum. Website maintained by the Korean War National Museum, Library & Cultural Center in Springfield IL.
- Korean War 1950-53 Primary Sources
"A collection of primary source documents related to the Korean War. Obtained largely from Russian archives, the documents include reports on Chinese and Soviet aid to North Korea, allegations that America used biological weapons, and the armistice." (Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program.)
- Korean History and Political Geography
Information about the Korean War on the website of the Asia Society. According to their website: "Asia Society is the leading educational organization dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context. Founded in 1956 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd, Asia Society is a nonpartisan, nonprofit institution."
- Korean War Atrocities (Library of Congress)
Documents of the hearings before the Subcommittee on Korean War Atrocities of the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations of the Committee on Government Operations, United States Senate (1953-54)
- Report of the United Nations Commission on Korea, 1950
Text of the UN report provided by the Modern History Sourcebook hosted by Fordham University.
- Korean War: Perspectives
Historical analysis of the Korean War written by Allan R. Millett, Ambrose Professor of History and director of the Eisenhower Center for American Studies at the University of New Orleans. (Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History)