Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017
- Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Online exhibitions and digital collections of primary sources related to Native American history and culture.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures (Newberry Library)
This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. The materials focus specifically on American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington)
"This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures. The digital databases includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology"
- North South, East, West: American Indians and the Natural World (Carnegie Museum)
"North, South, East, West: American Indians and the Natural World presents moving Native quotes and vibrant photographs of Native Americans to depict how they relate to the world around them. Striking color photographs of over 200 artifacts, never before published, from the Carnegie Museum's outstanding American Indian collection give tangible expression to a rich heritage of belief and customs."
- First Nations Collection (Southern Oregon University)
"The First Nations Tribal Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion. We have begun to collect and mount materials about many tribes in southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of these nations include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations."
- American Indians: Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Primary Sources, essays, and multimedia related to Native American history.
- Picturing the New World (University of North Carolina)
Theodore De Bry's engravings of North America provided many Europeans with their first glimpse of the New World. De Bry's illustrated edition of A Briefe and True Report of the New Found Land of Virginia, containing engravings that were based on the watercolors of John White, was published in 1590. The images shown on this site are from a rare hand-colored edition of the book in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
- Photos of American Indians (Library of Congress)
Images from the LC Photos, Prints, and Drawings Collections.
- American Indian History (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress portal page with links into many different LC collections and exhibits regarding Native American History.
- Photographing the Native American
Images of American Indians from 1860 to 1913, from the Massachusetts Historical Society.
- Digital Archives: South Dakota State Historical Society
Searchable digital collections of images and manuscripts, including many related to American Indian history.
- Historic Fort Snelling: Minnesota Historical Society
Information about the American Indian nations living in the Minnesota region during the early 1800s and U.S. government Indian Policy during this period.
- New Mexico Digital Collections (University of New Mexico)
"New Mexico Digital Collections is a central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico. Collections include an American Indian Oral History Collection.
- The Black Hawk War (Wisconsin Historical Society)
Original documents and other primary sources.
- American Indian Oral Histories Collection (Duke University)
"The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes."
- Indian Removal Act (Library of Congress)
Information about the Indian Removal Act of May 28, 1830 (Primary Documents in American History).
- Native American Documents Project (California State University- San Marcos)
This collection currently includes the narrative reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs for 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, and 1876, and three additional reports for 1871. ALso, it has a map of Western Reserves dated 1875.
- Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains
"The Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana."