Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017
Civil Rights March on Washington, August 28, 1963. (National Archives)
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute (Stanford University)
The King Institute provides access to thousands of documents, photographs and publications about the modern African American Freedom Struggle.
- Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: An Extraordinary Life (Seattle Times)
Biographical and historical information about Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Contains photographs, speeches, primary sources, and perspectives from politicians, activists, and ordinary citizens on his legacy.
- Voices of the Civil Rights Movement (Library of Congress)
Presents personal accounts of the Civil Rights Movement as well as a timeline and historical overview.
- The African American Odyssey: Civil Rights Era (Library of Congress)
A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black History and Culture. Includes maps, charts, primary sources, and historical information on desegregation and civil rights.
- The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow (PBS)
Historical information and primary source material showing how Jim Crow laws deprived African Americans of their civil rights.
- Civil Rights Movement Veterans
eterans of the Southern Freedom Movement tell their oral history of the Civil Rights Movement. Includes interviews, photos, documents, and discussion.
Women's Suffrage Movement (National Archives)
- The Struggle for Women's Suffrage (Library of Congress)
Include portraits of women who campaigned for women's voting rights, as well as Suffrage campaign images, cartoons, and ephemera. An women's suffrage timeline features many images.
- Agents of Social Change (Smith College)
Online exhibit with primary sources highlighting women’s struggle for social change, civil rights, and women's rights in the 20th century.
- Women's Liberation Movement (Duke University)
Primary source collection documenting the Women’s Liberation Movement in the United States during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
- Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project (Univ. of Washington)
Historical information and primary sources related to civil rights struggles of many groups in Washington including: African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, Native Americans, women, and the LGBT community.
- American Indian Movement (Minnesota Historical Society)
Online collection of primary sources related to the American Indian Movement in Minnesota.
- Latino Civil Rights Timeline (Teaching Tolerance; Southern Poverty Law Center))
Historical timeline of Latino struggle for civil rights from 1903-2006. Includes links to other resources.
- Milestones in the American Gay Rights Movement (PBS)
Timeline of events in the history of gay rights from 1924-1911 with some accompanying photographs.
- American Civil Liberties Union
Information on contemporary civil rights issues.