This is the "Web Resources: History of Slavery" page of the "Slavery: Global History and Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Slavery: Global History and Economics   Tags: united states history, world history  

slavery, slave trade, human trafficking
Last Updated: Oct 15, 2015 URL: http://lfanet.libguides.com/slavery Print Guide RSS Updates

Web Resources: History of Slavery Print Page
  Search: 
 

History of Slavery

Virginia Slave Auction: The Illustrated London News; February 16, 1861

  • Atlantic Slave Trade in Americas- Visual Resources
    The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. (Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and University of Virginia)
  • Voyages Database: Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
    The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has
    information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. (Emory University, Harvard University, National Endowment for the Humanities)
  • Understanding Slavery Initiative: Economics and the Accumulation of Wealth
    The Understanding Slavery initiative (USI) is a national UK learning project which supports the teaching and learning of transatlantic slavery and its legacies using museum and heritage collections. Over the past eight years six museums across the UK have worked in partnership to share expertise, develop resources, training opportunities and school sessions.
  • Carribean Histories Revealed
    The history of the British Caribbean is explored in this exhibition through government documents, photographs and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s. (The U.K. National Archives)
  • Internet Modern History Sourcebooks
    The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. (Fordham University)
  • The Story of Africa: Slavery (BBC)
    The Story of Africa tells the history of the continent from an African perspective. Africa's top historians take a fresh look at the events and characters that have shaped the continent from the origins of humankind to the end of South African apartheid. (BBC)
  • Francophone Slavery
    Website that includes resources related to slavery in the Francophone world. The website explores slavery and the Haitian Revolution. (University of Georgia)
  • Slavery and Forced Labor in Eearly China and the Roman World
    Paper examining the differences between ancient Rome and early China in terms of slavery and forced labor.(Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics)
  • A Brief History of Slavery
    Brief overview of slavery in ancient Greece, Rome, Medieval Europe, the transatlantic slave trade, Haiti, and the United States. (New Internationalist Magazine)
  • Black Abolitionist Archive
    The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement. (University of Detroit Mercy)

History of Slavery

Slaves with Sugar Hogsheads, from A General Description of the West Indies (London, 1780) 

  • Slavery History: International Museum of Slavery
    The International Slavery Museum highlights the international importance of slavery, both in a historic and contemporary context. Working in partnership with other museums with a focus on freedom and enslavement, the museum provides opportunities for greater awareness and understanding of the legacy of slavery today.
  • Gilder Lehman Center Online Documents
    The Gilder Lehrman Center’s online document collection contains over 200 individual items, including speeches, letters, cartoons and graphics, interviews, and articles.(Gilder Lehman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition)
  • British Slaves on the Barbary Coast
    Information from the BBC History website about slavery on the Barbary Coast. Written by Professor Robert Davis, an early modern history specialist at Ohio State University.
  • Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives (U.S. Library of Congress)
    Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress and includes more than 200 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division.
  • Digital Library on American Slavery
    The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface. (University of North Carolina- Greensboro)
  • African-American Mosaic (Library of Congress)
    This is the first Library-wide resource guide to the LOC's African-American collections. Covering the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere, the Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound
  • Documenting the American South
    Website providing a digital collection of texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes the topics of slavery and slave trade. (University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill)
  • Slavery and the Making of America (PBS)
    Slavery timeline and recordings of slave memories, plus other resources about slavery in U.S. history. (PBS website)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip